Restoration

wordpress

“I restore myself when I’m alone.” These words came from no other than the beautiful Marilyn Monroe herself. Nowadays, we are surrounded by company, if not physically we are always texting, snapchating, and Facebook messaging each other. When are we really alone? Society nowadays emphasizes being in good company. You always want to be surrounded by people or just be accompanied by someone wherever you go. Being alone is a bad thing, society says. Being alone means you have no friends, society says. Being alone means you are a loser, society says. Yet none of this is true.

wordpress 01

When I am alone, I restore myself. I begin noticing things that I have never noticed before or just did not bother to point out when I have company because that person’s taste might not be the same as mine. I find that when I am alone, I feel this relief, this peace that I rarely feel nowadays because there are always things to do, places to go, people to socialize with or meet. I love being sociable, I love being able to hang out with friends and catching up with them on what is going on in their lives. There is always something new that I can learn from another. But hey, I always learn something new when I am alone too. Beginning my junior year in high school, I sat down and restored myself once a week for an hour, During that time, I would sit down and read, take pictures, DIY, nap, any activity that eased the stress away. Alone time became an hour of go time. It was me time.

There is nothing wrong with being alone. There is no peer pressure, no one to impress but yourself. Do not be afraid of being alone. Alone time gives you the opportunity to restore yourself. You are re-energized, reborn during this time. Set out a period of time to be alone and restore yourself.

One thought on “Restoration

Leave a Reply

